16 Years – R.I.P Kurt

R.I.P Kurt

It was 16 years ago today that the body of Kurt Cobain was found in his Seattle home. I was 15 at the time and living in Gainesville, FL, just a few weeks away from my 16th birthday. My cares at the time were my driver’s license and girls.

I still remember the feeling I had when Kurt Loder popped on MTV to report that Kurt had been found dead of an apparent suicide. This was back when MTV was actually watchable and was usually on from the moment I got home from school until I went to bed. I remember feeling pretty apathetic at the time, as it was shortly before this that Kurt had that scare in Rome.  It was also before I had ever experimented with any sort of drug, so I still had naivete at the time.

As days would pass, it was rather stunning, especially in hindsight, how much this episode affected me. I was a fan of the band from the moment they broke big. This was the first celebrity death that I can recall that I really felt. While I don’t subscribe to the “voice of a generation” shit, I do feel that Kurt was for a time, the most important person in music and it’s a shame that we never got to see what else he was capable of. I am now older than he ever lived to be, which is a mindfuck as I’ll always be 15 when I think of him and his band’s music.

Rest in peace, Kurt. I’ll be sparking one for you tonight.

Leave a Reply

