Retrospective: Twin Peaks turns 20.

Laura Palmer

It was 20 years ago on April 8, 1990 that a cultural phenomenon took hold of television viewers all over the world. That phenomenon was David Lynch and Mark Frost’s epic and beautiful TV series, Twin Peaks.

I was 11 years old when Twin Peaks first debuted. I remember watching it at that age with my parents and while not understanding most of the innuendo, it was clear to me that this show was great and it has since become one of my all-time, if not the all-time of my favorite shows.

The first season and first half of the second season of Twin Peaks is some of the most innovative television ever produced. It broke rules and was “Lost” before J.J Abrams was a buzz name. Admittedly, the series took a nosedive once Laura’s killer was revealed, but the majority of the show is incredible. Great cast. Great writing. Perfect setting. When my family first moved to the Pacific Northwest, one of the first places I wanted to visit was Snoqualmie, WA. Just because Twin Peaks was filmed there.

I still remember dying to find out “Who killed Laura Palmer” as the rest of the country and world wanted to as well. I remember first seeing Madchen Amick (Shelly) for the first time and being aroused and wanting to kiss her, as well as kick both Leo and Bobby’s asses. I still remember, and still love (as evidenced by a recent post) Angelo Badalamenti’s haunting/beautiful/awesome/perfect score, which I still have in regular rotation.

To say that I love this show would be an understatement. It’s a show that I judge all current serial dramas against. In fact, the only show that I feel that has surpassed it, if I was to do a list, would be “The Sopranos”.

I highly suggest you to watch the entire series, which is available in a DVD box set called the “Gold Box“, especially if you are a fan of quirky and intriguing mysteries. If you’re a David Lynch fan, I doubt you haven’t seen it, but if you haven’t, you’re dumb. It still holds up today and I imagine if it was released/aired for the first time now, it would be a hit as it was back then.

20 years ago. It’s amazing and scary how time moves.

Interesting facts: Richard Beymer (Ben Horne) & Russ Tamblyn (Dr. Jacoby) co-starred as Tony and Riff respectively, in the all-time classic “West Side Story”. Mary Jo Deschanel (Eileen Hayward) is mother to hipster darling, Zooey Deschanel. Madchen Amick and Sherilyn Fenn (Audrey Horne) were and still are, really really hot. Lara-Flynn Boyle is really ugly.

Leave a Reply

